Just another WordPress.com weblog

Safe Harbor

safe-harbor-done

Inspired by the book, “Celebrate your self enhancing your own self esteem” by: Dorothy Corkille Briggs pg 85 regarding trigger events:

Quote from this book “Overreactions can be used as friends to pinpoint the past source.”

*(of a trauma or undealt- with pain.) 

These events deal with sore and tender spots and have little to do with the reaction to the person, place or thing of the moment

They are called triggers.

Quote from this book “Past pains need to be dealt with directly if they are to be laid to rest permanently.” 

Dealing with the present situation, person or thing will NOT bring the results you would like, which is to release this original pain.

We need to place ourselves in a “Safe Harbor” so that we can release these repressed emotions.

Physical relief– unleash, in a safe place, this past rage.

(I found myself screaming at the top of my lungs while driving yesterday and knew beyond a  shadow of a doubt that getting lost up in the mountains (the trigger) was really my friend so that I could  release a huge amount of pent-up anger and frustration. (*Important- without hurting myself or anyone else!)

Physiological relief- awareness that it was actually original pain caused by my father`s criticism of me. (for example)

To re-experience and fully express these pent up feelings.

Perhaps writing a letter and burning it or  speaking out loud as though they were by your side.

A safe Harbor.

In my opinion this is perhaps the most important point:

Do not deny to yourself the urge to retaliate.

Do not tell yourself you are Bad for having these feelings.

Find a safe harbor where you may express yourself freely. (without hurting yourself or others.

For more about loving the self inside of these feelings please see the article on:

https://bbberg.wordpress.com/2010/10/22/appreciating-your-own-life/

Also E.F.T. is in perfect alignment with this as it states your issue while following up with

I deeply and completely love myself anyways.

see  links here:

https://bbberg.wordpress.com/2014/04/25/free-your-life-release-the-blocks-that-are-holding-you-back/

https://bbberg.wordpress.com/category/e-f-temotional-freedom-technique/

Let me know about your journey as we are all in this together.

Blessings B.B.

safe-harbor

I ALWAYS PLACE MYSELF IN A SAFE HARBOR.

I DESERVE TO FEEL ALL MY FEELINGS.

I LOVE AND ACCEPT MYSELF EXACTLY AS I AM.

I AM SAFE NOW.

Comments on: "Safe Harbor" (2)

  1. There is more to this article that I need to add and very Buddhistic thought. From Pg. 88 of this book “See the present trigger as an opportunity to flush out old festered material so that you are free of it once and for all.

Leave a Reply

