Just another WordPress.com weblog

buddha card jpeg

There are many elements involved in a prayer being answered, but the important
thing is to keep praying until it is. By continuing to pray, you can reflect on
yourself with unflinching honesty and begin to move your life in a positive
direction on the path of earnest, steady effort. Even if your prayer doesn’t
produce concrete results immediately, your continual prayer will at some time
manifest itself in a form greater than you had ever hoped.

Daily Encouragement by Daisaku Ikeda
Friday, March 30, 2012

For me, the most important thing is looking into the mirror and reflecting with “Unflinching Honesty” on my attitude.

Am I holding a grudge today?

 Am I feeling out of sorts because I’ve allowed someone else to rob my peace ?

What part of me is not centered in the vortex? (on my greatest self, my divinity, source)

Am I looking outside of myself for my own happiness, blaming others.

These are the things that I bring to my Buddhist altar every morning when I pray.

 I want to purify the negative vibrations out of my life . My goal therefore  must be to deeply contemplate on what’s making me feel bad so that I can release these issues and feel relief.

I find relief by loving.

I find relief by forgiveness.

I find relief by recognizing my mistakes and immediately learning the lesson so that the mistake serves a greater purpose.

I find relief by praying for the happiness of the person giving me a hard time.

Every time I win over myself  I send a tremendous surge of positive energy to Mother Earth.

My victory is crucial to this planet.

It all starts inside with my own Human Revolution. (inner transformation)

In the 12 step programs we call it a fearless moral inventory.

A business which takes no regular inventory usually goes broke. Taking commercial inventory is a fact-finding and a fact-facing process. It is an effort to discover the truth about the stock-in-trade. One object is to disclose damaged or unsalable goods, to get rid of them promptly and without regret. If the owner of the business is to be successful, he cannot fool himself about values.

We did exactly the same thing with our lives. We took stock honestly. First, we searched out the flaws in our make-up which caused our failure. Being convinced that self, manifested in various ways, was what had defeated us, we considered its common manifestations. 
-A.A. Big Book p.64

Who needs my help today?

Who needs my forgiveness?

How can I serve?

AAJP

Leave a Reply

