Just another WordPress.com weblog

Greg Martin Lecture, Las Vegas- May 12th, 2012 –

Unofficial notes with the exception of Gosho passages and Pres. Ikeda’s guidance

THE Buddha possesses thirty-two features. All of them represent the physical aspect. Thirty one of them……….belong to the category of visible and non-coextensive physical attributes.2 They can therefore be depicted in tangible form, such as pictures or statues. The remaining feature, the pure and far-reaching voice, belongs to the category of invisible and coextensive physical attributes.3 It therefore cannot be captured either in a painting or in a wooden image.

Since the Buddha’s passing, two kinds of images, wooden and painted, have been made of him. They possess thirty-one features but lack the pure and far-reaching voice. Therefore, they are not equal to the Buddha. They are also devoid of the spiritual aspect.

(Opening the Eyes of Wooden and Painted Images, WND-1 85)

*Notes:

All people possess the Buddha nature within!  This is the 32ndaspect.

The 32nd aspect = us!

The 33rd aspect= Spirit of the Buddha or having the same mind as Nichiren.

It is our strong determination. (Not begging or wishing, hoping Etc.)

The pure and far reaching voice is our Buddha nature.

How do you activate the power of the object?

The Gohonzon without you is incomplete.

You have to activate it!

WE ACTIVATE IT BY:

Make the Buddha’s Heart your own.

We are trying to create the voice of the Buddha…same voice as Nichiren.

The physical = having our eyes open, our posture, our rhythm and our voice.

The spiritual= Oneness of mentor/disciple (Our Heart, our Intention)

What’s my Intention?

What’s my attitude?

Gosho: (PI-1, LB, Nov 2006)

 There are two aspects of the daimoku in Nichiren Daishonin’s Buddhism: the daimoku of faith and the daimoku of practice. The daimoku of faith refers to the spiritual aspect of our practice. This essentially consists of the struggle we wage in our hearts against our inner delusion or darkness; a battle against the negative and destructive forces within us………

(“On Attaining Buddhahood in this Lifetime”, Lecture series by S.G.I. Pres. Ikeda)

Notes:

When you think “I don’t have the power” this diminishes the power of the Gohonzon.

When you look outside of yourself for the solution, for your happiness, you diminish the power.

Example: Blaming others for your unhappiness.

By giving the power of our happiness (or unhappiness) to someone else we give away our own power. On a subconscious level you give away your power.

Hell can be perceived as the feeling of Powerlessness. Falling victim to outward thinking. This is the true state of Hell.

The Gohonzon has no power to change others. It only has the power to change you!

“I am the one who has the power to fix this!”

“It’s up to me!”

Relationships double what you already have in your life.

Ex: If you are unhappy you will be doubly unhappy

Or if you are happy, happiness is doubled.

 Prayers that have no result:

Prayers that are based on the lower mind (philosophies opposite of the Universal truths

  • Blaming others
  • Dependent Faith , Prayers that depend on someone or something acting or doing what you think is right.
  • Holding Doubts/Disbelief (fears)
  • Complaining attitude
  • Holding Grudges
  • Wishing harm (not trusting the Universe to handle the law of cause and effect.)

Prayers that have tremendous result:

Prayers that are Buddhist or based on Universal Laws and Truths

  • I am the power
  • I will…!
  • Let me begin with myself
  • I PRAY To do my Human Revolution
  • I PRAY to change myself
  • Let me devote myself to quickly help others
  • I am Confronting my delusions
  • I am Confronting my mistaken beliefs
  • It Begins with me
  • I am now Aligning myself, my attitude with my mentor
  • *asking the Gohonzon to show you what power you have.

Doubt freeing faith.

Question to ask myself:

“Am I stuck?”

“Am I looking in the wrong place?”

If I find it hard to focus on the Gohonzon and am distracted this means I really don’t want to hear what the Gohonzon has to say.

Nam means going to the truth & coming from the truth.

How do you know if you are activating the power in the Gohonzon?

The 3 tastes of the Buddha

  • Compassion (Heart)
  • Wisdom (Mind)
  • Courage (Spirit)

In the Gosho ND-2 *see paper

Perceive the Nature of your own life

This means you are a Buddha!

You have the Power.

New notes on once again studying this magnificent guidance.

I woke up the other morning and really was thirsty to reread, restudy and redetermine my goals and dreams from this great guidance. And as life can be, I manifested exactly that.

I attended a Women’s guidance meeting up in Northern CA that very night and lo and behold I got my wish!

Here are some unofficial notes from that meeting:

IT ALL STARTS WITH MY HUMAN REVOLUTION.

I DEVOTE MYSELF TO MY HUMAN REVOLUTION FIRST!

I DECIDE/VOW TO BE VICTORIOUS, TAKE ACTION AND WIN!

I ALLOW MY BUDDHA NATURE TO EMERGE.

I DON’T HAVE TO WAIT TIL EVERYTHING IS PERFECT BECAUSE

THESE SITUATIONS I AM GOING THRU RIGHT NOW ARE MY MISSION.

(not waiting for everything to be perfect 1st before I get myself chanting a lot,

before I am happy, before taking action.

Rather than offering up ten thousand prayers for remedy, it would be better
simply to outlaw this one evil.

Gosho:

ON ESTABLISHING THE CORRECT TEACHING

*notes

…..IDENTIFY THE ONE EVIL IN MY LIFE.

EXTINGUISH THIS ONE EVIL IN MY LIFE.

LET ME DO MY HUMAN REVOLUTION SO THAT I MAY HELP OTHERS.

please let me know if there is anymore to add to this very profound and far reaching subject..love BB

 

Leave a Reply

