Just another WordPress.com weblog

PUBLISHED DATE: May 29, 2010 @ 22:18

An auspicious day indeed. Twenty eight years ago, at 11 o’clock in the morning, I changed my destiny forever on into eternity. I am weeping today in gratitude and joy. I chant nam myo ho renge kyo as I have now been doing for these 28 years. It is still fresh in my mind this day, this miraculous day, so many years ago.

I was a deeply troubled young woman, steeped in an existence of alcoholism and nightmares, besieged by loud and incessant voices in my head. A demonic twittering that is so common in cases of people who are diagnosed with paranoid schizophrenia. I had been incarcerated in mental hospitals for 2 years which only served to drug me up,  keep me bloated ,lethargic, and hazy, and leaving me still uncured and living in a virtual hell on earth. That is – until I met this marvelous Gohonzon some 8 years later. This was my life, my unhappy fate until this day May 29th, another lifetime ago.

I have had so many miracles in my life that I can recount because of this practice of S.G.I. Buddhism, that I would fill this page and many, many more. What the essence of it all comes down to is that I am finally metamorphosed into the beautiful butterfly I always was and that I held captive inside, until today. This was not an easy road, nor a quick one, but now looking back, it only seems like a moment.

I’ve written my life story in the form of A musical, theater show called “Dancing in the Rain” based on the saying: It’s not waiting for the storm to pass but learning to dance in the rain. I feel that I have been blessed in ways that I can not even fathom and that I owe a debt to the world, a debt to my mentor Daisaku Ikeda, and a calling to help all those who are now suffering.

Thank you Sensei, thank you S.G.I. members and thank you for my life’s lessons so that I may be of service.

The BUTTERFLY

TO THIS, MY NEW SELF!

I’M FLYING INTO THE BUDDHA LAND ON GOLDEN WINGS

Comments on: "Today is my gohonzon birthday" (16)

  1. Bob Mann said:

    Congratulations, BB!! One of my favorite quotes….

    “How does one become a butterfly?” She asked pensively. “You must want to fly so much that you are willing to give up being a caterpillar.”
    – Trina Paulus

    – – – – – – –
    How does one become a Buddha? ….through Faith alone….

    Best always and always be happy….Bob

  2. happy b day is it Gohunzon bday or birth date ?

  3. happy birthday BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB

  4. Laverne said:

    Congrats on your B-day in the SGI religion. You have made it through so much and serve as an example for all of us that we can turn poison into medicine. Congrats again on your day

  5. Go BB!! The start of another 28 years. . . .

    Ed

  6. Today is my 29th Gohonzon Birthday and this blog is still as poignant and bitter-sweet as when I wrote it last year.
    I’ve been though alot,to say the least, but whatever doesn’t kill you makes you strong.(and believe me I was almost killed a numerous amount of times!)
    Today is the first day of the rest of my life and I am steeped in a gratitude so profound and strong that it has no words,only my actions.To help others through all my experiences and triumphs! love to all B.B. Berg 2:00pm May 29th 2011

  7. michelle button said:

    Congratulations!!

  8. Diane Manchester said:

    Quote from Robert Frost written by one of our teachers on my 11th grade English paper…”two roads diverged in a yellow wood and I ..I took the one less traveled by and that has made all the difference”. Love you long time B.B. ❤️

Leave a Reply

